Brexit EN




Following the UK's withdrawal agreement from the European Union (EU), in January 2020 (Brexit), a transitional regime will apply until 31 December 2020. During this transitional period, the United Kingdom, although is not an EU Member State, has been still applying EU law.

To address the impact of Brexit on European financial markets and their participants, the European Securities and Markets Authority is working in close collaboration with the competent authorities - members as part of its mission to protect investors and financial market stability under supervisory convergence, in order to ensure the smooth transition to the new regime from 1/1/2021. To this end, it has prepared statements on individual issues related to Brexit. Similarly, the International Organisation of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) has compiled and posted in its website national legislation and other related measures taken by its members on Brexit.

See here the announcements of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) and here the announcements of the International Organisation of Securities Commissions (IOSCO).

See here the legal framework related to the UK’s withdrawal agreement from the EU. See also here for any updates from the European Commission.

The Hellenic Capital Market Commission monitors developments and is in contact with the relevant competent authorities of the EU Member States as well as the respective authorities of the United Kingdom, and with the United Kingdom companies operating in Greece, which should reconsider how they shall operate in Greece from 1/1/2021 and, unless there is an agreement between the EU and the UK or other special legislation, take into account the provisions applicable to companies originated from third countries.


Multilateral Μemorandum of Understanding concerning consultation, cooperation and the exchange of information between each of the EEA competent authorities and the UK Financial Concuct Authority